Lafarge Egypt Continues Environmental Endeavors Collecting Plastic Pollution in Egypt’s Beaches

14.09.2021

Lafarge Egypt Continues Environmental Endeavors
Collecting Plastic Pollution in Egypt’s Beaches

 

Lafarge Egypt Continues Environmental Endeavors
Collecting Plastic Pollution in Egypt’s Beaches

  • Solomon Baumgartner Aviles: “Lafarge Egypt’s initiative complies with Holcim’s, our parent company, net-zero climate pledge, adopting a strategy to become ‘nature-positive’ by restoring and preserving biodiversity and water and bringing more nature into cities, through our products and corporate social responsibility efforts.”
  • Dr. Noha Bakr: “Lafarge Egypt continues to promote joining forces between the government, the private sector and the civil society, to achieve sustainable solutions. Hand in hand with Kafr El Sheikh Officials and Plastic Bank, we inaugurate this promising initiative with local volunteers, under Kafr El Sheikh Governorate’s supervision and management to clean a beach spanning over 1 km² in Baltim. Our efforts will be concluded by an awareness session for the participants to lead a robust social movement for a sustainable environment.”
  • Amr El-Kady: "We’re glad to be partnering with Lafarge Egypt, the beach clean-up in Kafr El Sheikh this month is our first joint event. We plan on extending to many cities, raising awareness on the negative effects of plastic pollution.”

Monday, September 13th 2021 - Lafarge Egypt, a member of Holcim Group, announced continuing cooperation with Kafr El Sheikh Governorate. Together with Plastic Bank, Lafarge Egypt member of Holcim Group sponsors cleaning-up one of Kafr El Sheikh’s beaches in Baltim. Supported by the Ministry of Environment, the Ministry of Youth & Sports and Kafr El Sheikh Governorate, the 50 youth volunteers from the governorate will collect plastic waste and receive an awareness session on plastic pollution and their role to prevent it. The prominent endeavors of Kafr El Sheikh Governorate, youth volunteers, Lafarge Egypt and Plastic Bank, contribute to serving the 14 Sustainable Development Goals and supporting in  achieving Egypt’s vision 2030.”

Solomon Baumgartner Aviles, CEO of Lafarge Egypt, stated: “Lafarge Egypt, a member of Holcim Group, works on reinforcing development and environmental sustainability through taking serious steps to prevent plastic pollution. Our initiative complies with Holcim’s, our parent company, net zero climate pledge, adopting a strategy to become ‘nature-positive’ by restoring and preserving biodiversity and water and bringing more nature into cities, through our products and corporate social responsibility efforts . We are dedicated with science-driven measurable 2030 biodiversity & water targets, to continue to be among the top 1% of the 500 largest global companies, to build progress for people and the planet.”

He added: “I would like to express my sincere gratitude for youth volunteers, who showed exceptional enthusiasm and spirit, along with praising Major General Gamal Nour El-Dein, Governor of Kafr El Sheikh for supporting their constructive efforts. We are immensely thrilled with our first cooperation with Plastic Bank.”

Dr. Noha Bakr, Communications & Corporate Affairs Director of Lafarge Egypt, praised the state’s appreciation and support for the company’s endeavors to develop the surrounding communities, saying:

“Lafarge Egypt continues to promote joined forces between the government, the private sector and the civil society, to achieve sustainable solutions. Hand in hand with Kafr El Sheikh Officials and Plastic Bank, we inaugurate this promising initiative with local volunteers, under Kafr El Sheikh Governorate’s supervision and management to clean a beach spanning over 1 km² in Baltim. It is expected to collect around 20,000 plastic bottles which will be recycled through the Plastic Bank system. Our efforts will be concluded by an awareness session for the participants to lead a robust social movement for a sustainable environment.”

Amr El-Kady - Regional Director for Egypt, the Middle East and Africa, Plastic Bank - commented: "We’re glad to be partnering with Lafarge Egypt (Member of Holcim group), a company that is playing a pioneering role in its industry in tackling the plastic pollution issue. Companies like Lafarge Egypt are taking solid steps towards preventing plastic pollution in the Nile and seas. Through our beach clean-up in Kafr El Sheikh this month, we will collect plastic waste to be recycled in Plastic Bank’s facilities as part of our first joint event but definitely not the last. We plan on extending to many cities, raising awareness on the negative effects of plastic pollution and the positive impact that can be achieved through creating collection ecosystems and recycling operations.”

He added: “Plastic Bank offers a solution to both the environmental challenge of plastic waste, as well as addressing social and economical challenges concerning poverty and unemployment. We are helping the world stop ocean plastic while improving the lives of collector communities."

 

 

 

 

About Lafarge Egypt:

 

Lafarge Egypt, a member of Holcim Group, is a key player in the construction materials industry. With its plant located in Sokhna, the company provides products and solutions that are essential in creating the structures that shape our landscape today. Powered by more than 2000 employees, and through its established business in cement, concrete and bags manufacturing, Lafarge Egypt is committed to providing sustainable building materials to meet the needs of its customers, whether it be individual home builders, large construction companies, architects or local artisans.

 

 

About Plastic Bank

 

Plastic Bank is a social enterprise that aims at creating a recycling-based community through providing job opportunities and income resources for collecting plastic waste. Plastic Bank is helping the world stop ocean plastic while improving the lives of collector communities, and establishing a collection ecosystem in coastal communities and integrate the plastic back into recycling value chains as Social Plastic® to be reused in global industries. Plastic waste collectors receive money, services or goods in exchange for plastic waste, providing them with secure lives. Also, Plastic Bank fights child labor, converts informal sector into a formal one, develops work places according to HSE standards, encourages education and improve collectors’ lives.

 

Plastic Bank’s Blockchain platform secures the full supply chain and provides real-time data accessibility which enables optimum transparency, traceability, and ability to scale across Egypt. The collected material is reborn as Social Plastic® which can be easily reintegrated into products and packaging as part of a closed-loop supply chain.

 

Plastic Bank was founded by David Katz in March 2013, with the aim of gathering a billion people together to monetize waste while improving the lives of people in countries that lack waste management infrastructure. Plastic Bank currently has operations in the PhilippinesIndonesiaBrazil, and Egypt, with plans to expand into Colombia and Vietnam in the coming years.

لافارچ مصر تستمر في جهودها المجتمعية لدعم البيئة بمبادرة للحد من التلوث البلاستيكي في شواطئ مصر

14.09.2021

لافارچ مصر تستمر في جهودها المجتمعية لدعم البيئة
بمبادرة للحد من التلوث البلاستيكي في شواطئ مصر

 

لافارچ مصر تستمر في جهودها المجتمعية لدعم البيئة
بمبادرة للحد من التلوث البلاستيكي في شواطئ مصر

 

  • سولومون بومجارتنر أفيلز: "تأتي مبادرتنا في لافارچ مصر تماشياً مع التزام مجموعة هولسيم، الشركة الأم التي نتبعها، بتحقيق مستقبل بصافي صفر انبعاثات، إذ نتبنى استراتيجية ترك أثر إيجابي على الطبيعة والتى تشمل الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي والمياه كموارد طبيعية نعتمد عليها".
  •  د. نهى بكر: "نفتخر بدورنا البارز في تعزيز التعاون بين مؤسسات الدولة، والقطاع الخاص، والمجتمع المدني نحو المزيد من التنمية المستدامة. يداً بيد، تقدم لافارچ مصر مجهوداتها المجتمعية في محافظة كفر الشيخ بالتعاون مع بلاستيك بنك. تدعم وتقود المبادرة جهود تطوعية من الشباب، تحت رقابة وإدارة محافظة كفر الشيخ لتنظيف شاطئ مساحته 1 كم²، في بلطيم بالمحافظة، كما تقدم المبادرة ندوة توعوية للمشاركين ليكونوا نواة لخلق حراك مجتمعي شامل فيما يخص بيئة نظيفة".
  • عمرو القاضي: "يسعدنا التعاون مع لافارچ مصر، ويأتي تنظيف الشاطئ في محافظة كفر الشيخ كأول فعالية مشتركة والتى نخطط للتوسع بها فى العديد من المدن المصرية ورفع الوعي بالآثار السلبية الناجمة عن التلوث البلاستيكي".

الأثنين، 13 سبتمبر 2021 - أعلنت شركة لافارچ مصر، عضو مجموعة هولسيم العالمية، عن استمرار التعاون مع محافظة كفر الشيخ، فضلاً عن أول تعاون لها مع مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك، لرعاية الفعالية الضخمة لتنظيف أحد شواطئ بلطيم في محافظة كفر الشيخ، بجهود 50 متطوع من شباب المحافظة، وتنطلق تلك الفعالية بدعم من وزارة البيئة ووزارة الشباب والرياضة ومحافظة كفر الشيخ لجمع المخلفات البلاستيكية من الشواطئ العامة وتوعية المشاركين بخطورة التلوث البلاستيكي ودورهم للحد منه، هذا وتساهم كل من محافظة كفر الشيخ وشبابها من المتطوعين، و لافارچ مصر، وبلاستيك بنك من خلال  جهودهم المشتركة في خدمة 14 هدفاً من أهداف التنمية المستدامة وتحقيق رؤية مصر 2030.

في هذا الصدد، صرح السيد/ سولومون بومجارتنر أفيلز، الرئيس التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس الإدارة لشركة لافارچ مصر، قائلاً: "لافارچ مصر، عضو مجموعة هولسيم العالمية، تأخذ على عاتقها تسخير مبادراتها لتعزيز التنمية والاستدامة البيئية، وتأخذ خطوات جادة للحد من التلوث البلاستيكي تماشياً مع التزام هولسيم الشركة الأم التي نتبعها بتحقيق مستقبل بصافي صفر انبعاثات، إذ نتبنى استراتيجية ترك أثر إيجابي على الطبيعة والتى تشمل الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي والمياه كموارد طبيعية نعتمد عليها، وباعتبارهما أهداف للقياس بحلول عام 2030 لتكون بذلك ضمن أكبر 500 شركة عالمية تستهدف تحقيق التنوع البيولوجي واستعادة أهم موارد الطبيعة نحو بناء التقدم للناس والكوكب".

 وأضاف: "أتقدم بوافر الشكر للشباب المتطوعين من محافظة كفر الشيخ، والذين بذلوا جهداً متميزاً بحماس رائع، ووافر التقدير للسيد اللواء جمال نور الدين محافظ كفر الشيخ لرعايته لهذا الجهد التطوعي البناء، وسعداء بأول تعاون لنا مع مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك".

ومن جانبها، أشادت د. نهى بكر، رئيس قطاع الاتصالات والعلاقات العامة بشركة لافارچ مصر، بترحيب الهيئات الحكومية المختصة لجهود الشركة في تنمية المجتمعات المحيطة، قائلة: "نفتخر بدورنا البارز في تعزيز التعاون بين مؤسسات الدولة والقطاع الخاص والمجتمع المدني نحو المزيد من التنمية المستدامة، ولذا يداً بيد مع قيادات محافظة كفر الشيخ وبلاستيك بنك نطلق تلك المبادرة الواعدة لنعمل على تحقيق أهدافنا المشتركة لحماية المسطحات المائية من المخلفات البلاستيكية وتوعية المجتمع بضرورة التخلص من المخلفات بطريقة مسؤولة، هذا ومن خلال فعاليتنا اليوم يقوم متطوعون محليون، بتنظيم وإدارة وتحفيز محافظة كفر الشيخ، بتنظيف شاطئ مساحته 1 كم² ومن المتوقع جمع ما يوازي 20,000 زجاجة بلاستيكية يتم إعادة تدويرها عن طريق منظومة مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك، وتنتهي الفعالية بتقديم ندوة توعوية للمشاركين ليكونوا نواة لخلق حراك مجتمعي شامل".

هذا وعقب السيد/ عمرو القاضي، المدير الإقليمي لمصر ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا في مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك، قائلاً: "يسعدنا التعاون مع لافارچ مصر، عضو مجموعة هولسيم العالمية، وذلك لدورها الرائد في قطاعها في معالجة قضية التلوث البلاستيكي، حيث تسعى جاهدة للحد من التلوث البلاستيكي في نهر النيل وبحار مصر، ويأتي تنظيف الشاطئ في محافظة كفر الشيخ لجمع البلاستيك وإعادة تدويره في مؤسسات بلاستيك بنك كأول فعالية مشتركة ولكنها بالتأكيد لن تكون الأخيرة، إذ نخطط للتوسع في العديد من المدن المصرية ورفع الوعي بالآثار السلبية الناجمة عن التلوث البلاستيكي، والتقدم الذي يمكننا تحقيقه من خلال تشكيل منظومة لجمع المخلفات وعمليات إعادة التدوير"، وأضاف: "تقدم بلاستيك بنك حل فعال لكل من التحدي البيئي الناتج عن المخلفات البلاستيكية مع معالجة التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المتمثلة في الفقر والبطالة، لنساعد بذلك العالم على إنهاء تلوث المحيطات بالبلاستيك بينما نحسن حياة المجتمعات القائمة على جمع المخلفات".

 

 

 

 

 

نبذة عن لافارﭺ مصر:

الجدير بالذكر أن لافارﭺ مصر، عضو مجموعة هولسيم العالمية، هي شريك رئيسي في صناعة مواد البناء. فمن خلال مصنعها المتواجد في عين السخنة بمحافظة السويس، توفر الشركة حلول ومنتجات ضرورية في تشييد الأبنية التي تشكل معالم حياتنا اليوم. وبدعم من أكثر من 2000 موظف، ومن خلال أعمالها في مجال الأسمنت والمحاجر والخرسانة وصناعة الأكياس، تلتزم لافارﭺ مصر بتوفير مواد بناء مستدامة لتلبية احتياجات عملائها، سواء كانوا من بناة المنازل الفردية أو شركات المقاولات الكبيرة أو المهندسين المعماريين أو المطورين العقاريين.

 

نَبْذَة عن مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك:

بلاستيك بنك® هي مؤسسة مجتمعية تهدف لخلق مجتمع قائم على تجدد الموارد عن طريق خلق فرص عمل ومصادر دخل من خلال جمع المخلفات البلاستيكية. تساعد شركة بلاستيك بنك العالم على إيقاف وصول البلاستيك للمحيطات مع تحسين ظروف حياة جامعي المخلفات البلاستيكية؛ كما تبني أنظمة بيئية أخلاقية لإعادة التدوير في المجتمعات الساحلية وتعيد معالجة المواد لإعادة إدخالها في سلسلة التوريد التصنيعية العالمية.  كما يحصل جامعي المخلفات البلاستيكية على نقود أو سلع أو خدمات مقابل المواد التي يجمعونها لتعينهم على المعيشة الكريمة. كما تعمل بلاستيك بنك على مكافحة تشغيل الأطفال وتحويل القطاع الغير رسمي إلى قطاع رسمي وتطوير أماكن العمل لتصبح موائمة مع مقاييس الصحة والسلامة والبيئة وتحفيز تعليم الأطفال وتحسين الظروف المعيشية لجامعي المخلفات البلاستيكية

وتعمل المنصة الرقمية الخاصة بمؤسسة بلاستيك بنك المدعومة بتكنولوجيا الBlockchain على تأمين التعاملات الرقمية بالكامل وتوفر تصورًا للبيانات في الوقت الفعلي، مما يتيح شفافية البيانات وإمكانية تتبع مصادر البلاستيك من التجميع حتى المراحل النهائية للتصنيع وذلك يتيح فرص للتوسع السريع و خلق منظومات لجمع مخلفات البلاستيك في جميع أنحاء الجمهورية. تُولد المواد المجمعة من جديد باعتبارها Social Plastic® التي يمكن إعادة دمجها بسهولة في المنتجات والتعبئة كجزء من سلسلة التوريد ذات الحلقة المغلقة.

بلاستيك بنك هي مؤسسة كندية، وتم تأسيسها على يد ديفيد كاتز في مارس 2013، آملاً أن يتحد بليون شخص على خلق قيمة مادية للمخلفات البلاستيكية والعمل على تحسين المستوى المعيشي للأفراد محدودي الدخل بالدول التي تفتقر مرافق إدارة المخلفات. تعمل مؤسسة بلاستيك بنك حالياً في الفلبين وإندونيسيا والبرازيل ومصر، مع خطط للتوسع في كولومبيا وفيتنام في السنوات القليلة القادمة.